Attack that shook the nation 19 years Back

Five men belonging to terrorist outfits attacked the Indian Parliament on December 13, 2001, and 9 security personnel were martyred during the attack. The scourge of terrorism has impacted nations across continents and India has been among the worst-hit.

Attack that shook the nation 19 years Back

December 13, 2001, the Indian Parliament was attacked by terrorists that belonged to Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM). The brutal attack claimed the lives of 9 persons between India and Pakistan.

Six Delhi Police personnel, two Parliament Security Service personnel, and a gardener lost their lives to the attacks. The five terrorists, who attacked the Parliament, were murdered outside the building. All ministers and politicians escaped unharmed. 

The 5 terrorists - Hamza, Haider alias Tufail, Rana, Ranvijay, and Mohammed arrived in a car that had Home Ministry and Parliament labels when both the houses had been adjourned. The gunmen drove their four-wheeler into the car of Indian Vice President Krishan Kant, stepped out, and opened fire.

The security personnel present at the building were quick to respond sensing the alarming situation as they gunned down the accused. Constable Kamlesh Kumari, personnel of the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) spotted the accused and lost her life during the attack. The probe by Security agencies on the attacks later revealed that it had been planned by Mohammad Afzal Guru. Guru was convicted for his role in the attacks and was sentenced to death. 

19 years on, the Indian Parliament continues to hold sessions, guarded by brave soldiers and security personnel. The country remains a nation that is intolerant towards terrorism even today. A country that remains unfazed by external threats that terror outfits pose to democracy and its functioning.